APTA Combined Sections Meeting

Document Type

Conference Proceeding




Following the release of its 2001 report, Crossing the Quality Chasm: A New Health System for the 21st Century, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) convened a summit of 150 interprofessional healthcare educators to reform health professions education. As a result, in 2002, the IOM established an overarching vision to achieve care that is safe, effective, patient-centered, timely efficient, and equitable: “All health professionals should be educated to deliver patient-centered care as members of an interdisciplinary team, emphasizing evidence-based practice, quality improvement approaches, and informatics.” Physical Therapy educators have expanded curricula to teach three of these five competencies. We routinely teach that physical therapists practice in interprofessional teams to provide care that is patient-centered and evidence-based. However, we lag behind other health professions in teaching quality improvement concepts and skills in entry-level education. This session will describe the five IOM competencies and use key frameworks to engage small groups of learners to develop and evaluate quality improvement curricula appropriate for academic and clinical settings. These frameworks include:

  • Kern’s six steps of curriculum design
  • University of Toronto framework of curriculum development, and
  • Kirkpatrick’s Four Levels of Training Evaluation.